USDA Announces Appointments to the National Potato Promotion Board

WASHINGTON — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue today appointed 31 members to the National Potato Promotion Board. Each representative will serve a three-year term of office.

Newly appointed members representing producers are:

Nathan Bender, Bakersfield, Calif.
Ed Staunton, Tulelake, Calif.
William L. Alderete, Del Norte, Colo.
Bevan Lenz, Wray, Colo.
Jason M. Tillman, Mosca, Colo.
Tyson Funk, American Falls, Idaho
Taylor Grant, Rupert, Idaho
Braden Lake, Rupert, Idaho
Rick Miller, St. Anthony, Idaho
Adam D. Nielsen, Jackson, Idaho
Jan VanOrden, Blackfoot, Idaho
Tanner Whalen, Aberdeen, Idaho
Colin Szawlowski, Hadley, Mass.
Ryan Crane, Hermon, Maine
Jason Walther, Schoolcraft, Mich.
Ben Zechman, Kearney, Neb.
Leah Halverson, Grand Forks, N.D.
Luke Robison, Merrill, Ore.
Daniel Gundersen, Burlington, Wash.
Rod Schutte, Othello, Wash.
Samueal Stahl, Ritzville, Wash.
Marvin J. Wollman, Warden, Wash.
Jon Gay, French Creek, W.Va.

The following producers are reappointed to the board:

Jason Davenport, Bakersfield, Calif.
Trever Belnap, Hamer, Idaho
Jaren Raybould, St. Anthony, Idaho
Steve P. Streich, Kalispell, Mont.
Dan Walchli, Hermiston, Ore.
Bryan Bender, Chambersburg, Pa.
Jordan Reed, Pasco, Wash.
Keven A. Thaemert, Quincy, Wash.

The National Potato Promotion Board, which operates as Potatoes USA, is composed of approximately 100 members consisting of producers, importers and one public member. The total number of members fluctuates from year to year based on the production and importation of potatoes. Board members are nominated by their industry and are appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight of 22 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

More information about the board is available on the National Potato Promotion Board page on the AMS website and on the board’s website, You may also contact Stacy JonesKing at (202) 720-9915 or [email protected].