North American Blueberry Council Applauds Congressional Action on Japan’s Frozen Blueberry Tariffs

A bipartisan group of lawmakers led by Reps. Rick Larsen (D-WA-02) and David Valadao (R-CA-22), and Sen. Angus King (I-ME), is calling on the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture  (USDA) to work with their Japanese counterparts to ensure equal market access for U.S. blueberry growers by eliminating  harmful frozen blueberry tariffs. 

USHBC Adds New Communications Director

The U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council (USHBC) and the North American Blueberry Council (NABC) have selected Kristy Babb as their new communications director. In this newly created role, Babb will develop and lead a highly engaging and dynamic communications platform for both organizations that helps unify and drive the energy and ambition to make blueberries the world’s favorite fruit. 

NABC Adds New Government Affairs Director

The North American Blueberry Council (NABC) has selected Alyssa Houtby as its new government affairs director. In this newly created role, Houtby will lead the council’s advocacy efforts and will work closely with Monument Advocacy, NABC’s Washington, D.C.-based lobbying firm. 

Gerard W. Krewer, Whitesbog Preservation Trust Honored with Awards from the North American Blueberry Council

A renowned blueberry researcher and an organization focused on preserving the history of the blueberry industry were recently honored with prestigious awards from the North American Blueberry Council (NABC) for their years’ long efforts to support the industry. Gerard W. Krewer earned the Duke Galletta Award that recognizes excellence in blueberry horticultural research; and the Whitesbog Preservation Trust earned the Alex Wetherbee Award that recognizes outstanding contributions to the blueberry industry in marketing and promotion. 

NABC Announces New Members of Its Expanded Board of Directors

The North American Blueberry Council (NABC) today released the full slate of its recently elected board of directors, including new president Pat Goin of Goin’s Blueberry Lane in Indiana, and other board officers. Starting in 2023, the board has been expanded from six to 15 members.