USDA Announces Mushroom Council Appointments

WASHINGTON – U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue announced the appointment of three members to serve on the Mushroom Council. The appointees will serve three-year terms from Jan. 1, 2019, to Dec. 31, 2021. 

Members appointed are:

  • Sonya Beltran, Kennett Square, Pa., Representing Region 2
  • Meghan Klotzbach, West Grove, Pa., Representing Region 2
  • Emily Bettencourt, Morgan Hill, Calif. Representing Region 3

The nine-member council is composed of eight domestic growers and one importer. The members represent four regions. Two domestic growers represent all states other than California and Pennsylvania (Region 1); four domestic growers represent Pennsylvania (Region 2) and two domestic growers represent California (Region 3). The importer represents Region 4. Council members are nominated by their industry peers and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. 

More information about the council, including a roster of members, is available on the Mushroom Council page on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) website and on the council’s website,

Since 1966, Congress has authorized 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.