MSC Continues to Evolve its Multi-Stakeholder Board

The Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) Board of Trustees will be joined by five new members from across the retail, fishing and conservation communities. These important appointments will ensure that the MSC Board of Trustees continues to involve a wide range of expert views as it sets the strategic direction of the organisation. 

David Lock
, Chairman of Western Australian fishing company, Mareterram Ltd and Giles Bolton, Responsible Sourcing Director from Tesco plc took up their seats on the MSC Board in November and January respectively. Maria Damanaki, Global Managing Director for Oceans from The Nature Conservancy, and former European Union Commissioner for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, will join in July 2019. These new appointees will also be joined by two new Co-Chairs of the MSC’s Stakeholder Advisory Council who take up ex officio seats on the Board. Stefanie Moreland, VP of Government Relations, Seafood Sustainability, and Corporate Social Sustainability from Trident Seafoods Corporation joined in January 2019 in an industry seat. Amanda Nickson, International Fisheries Director for The Pew Charitable Trusts, will bring her experience to the table in a conservation seat from late July 2019.The 15-member Board is made up of Trustees from the fishing industry, academia, NGOs, and retailers and other fields carefully selected to ensure decision-making remains balanced and reflects different sectors and interests.

Werner Kiene, who has recently been appointed for his third and final term as chair of the Board from July 2019, said: 
“As the MSC strives to maintain and strengthen its world-leading standards for sustainable fishing and seafood traceability, we rely on the insight, expertise and time of leaders from across the seafood, marine science and conservation communities. In setting the MSC’s strategic direction, it is critical that the Board of Trustees comprises a diversity of perspectives, experience and knowledge. We’re delighted to be welcoming such a high calibre group of new members to the Board, as we continue to uphold and evolve our multi-stakeholder governance model.”

New members bring new perspectives
Trustees are chosen for their knowledge, expertise and support for the MSC. Potential new Board members are identified by existing members, and following a review process, suitable nominees are approached for interview. There must be consensus amongst all Board members on the appointment of a new candidate. 

Trustees are appointed by the Board in a personal capacity, not as representatives of their organisations, and serve a three-year term; they may stand for re-appointment for a second term. The Chairman may serve three terms of three years.

The Board is made up of a mixture undesignated and designated seats. The eight designated seats comprise of two seats for each of the following sectors: industry, conservation, market and marine science. Giles Bolton will take the currently vacant market seat, and Maria Damanaki will take one of conservation seats when Ms Lynne Hale retires after the AGM in July 2019.

Find out more information about the MSC’s Board of Trustees and governance bodies, including a list of MSC Board trustees.