‘Best of the Best’ to be Revealed at the International Grower of the Year Awards on January 22

A high calibre jury of six internationally renowned ornamental horticulture experts have selected nine finalists for the International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH) International Grower of the Year Awards 2019. The awards celebrate best practice and recognise the ‘best of the best’ in ornamentals production. The winners of the industry’s most prestigious awards will be announced at the International Grower of the Year event on Tuesday 22nd January 2019 at the IPM Fairground in Essen, Germany.

Chaired by AIPH Vice President Tim Edwards (UK), the expert judging panel includes Dr Zhao Shiwei, Vice President of the World Federation of Rose Societies (China), Jan-Dieter Bruns, Chairman of the  European Nurserystock Association (Germany), Mike Rimland, Director of R&D, Indoor Plant Division, Costa Farms (USA), André van Kruijssen, General Director of Veiling Holambra Cooperative (Brazil) and Leo Hoogendoorn, CEO of Florensis (the Netherlands).

Entries for the 2019 Awards were received from around the world and were judged on five key criteria; economic performance, innovation, market insight, sustainability and human resources policy. The 2019 finalists come from six different countries – Belgium, China, Denmark, Kenya, the Netherlands and Poland. The nine finalists are:

Clematis Źródło Dobrych Pnączy Spółka, z ograniczoną odpowiedzialnością Spółka komandytowa, (Poland)
Fujian Hongzhan Landscape Engineering Co. Ltd. (China)
Gartneriet Tvillingegaarden, (Denmark)
Gediflora, Belgium
Inner Mongolia M•Grass Ecological Environment (Group) Co. Ltd. (China)
Jiangsu Zhonghe Flowers Co. Ltd. (China)
OK Plant, (the Netherlands)
Oserian Development Company Ltd. (Kenya)
Sichuan Colorful Forestry Development Co. Ltd. (China)

The awards will be presented for four categories; finished plants and trees, young plants, cut flowers and bulbs and, lastly, sustainability. One category winner will be crowned AIPH International Grower of the Year 2019 and receive the ‘Gold Rose’ – the most coveted prize of the evening.

All winners will be announced live on the evening of Tuesday 22nd January. The event includes a drinks reception, gala dinner, awards ceremony and an evening of live musical entertainment. Tickets are available at aiph.org/groweroftheyear/. Early bird discount ends Friday 14th December 2018. The early bird ticket price is €205 per person/ €185 per person for groups of ten. The full ticket price is €225 per person / €205 per person for groups of ten. The ticket price also includes admission to IPM Essen – the industry’s largest international trade fair.

International Association of Horticultural Producers (AIPH)

Since 1948, AIPH has united horticultural producers in an international community that thrives to this day. Much has changed in that time. Technologies advanced, cities rose from the ground, and we have become more connected than ever. As a result, our essential bond with nature has been weakened. AIPH strives to reignite and uphold an appreciation of plants that we believe is a basic human instinct. We support the work of grower associations globally and together we champion a prosperous industry, growing plants that enhance lives, advance societies and sustain our planet, for this generation and the next.

International Grower of the Year (IGOTY) Awards

Brought to you by AIPH in partnership with Founding Partner, FloraCulture International (FCI), the IGOTY awards have been championing outstanding achievement in the sector since 2010. They recognise best practice in horticultural production by the top ornamental production nurseries from around the globe, celebrating the expertise and energy they give to horticulture. In 2018 ornamental growers, from Canada, China, Colombia, Ethiopia, Israel and the Netherlands reached the finals, with Ter Laak Orchids – The Netherlands, winning AIPH IGOTY 2018.

For more information including brochures, past winners and a video of the 2017 awards visit www.aiph.org/groweroftheyear