USDA Announces National Pork Board Appointments

The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of five members to the National Pork Board. All five appointees will serve three-year terms.

The appointed members are:

  • Russell A. Nugent III, Lowell, Ark.
  • Gene Noem, Ames, Iowa
  • Bill Luckey, Columbus, Neb.
  • Alicia Pedemonti, Hopkinton, N.H.
  • Michael P. Skahill, Williamsburg, Va.

The National Pork Board is composed of 15 pork producers nominated by the National Pork Producers Delegate Body, which is made up of 132 producer and importer members.

The program was created and is administered under the authority of the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act of 1985. It became effective September 5, 1986, when the Pork Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Orderwas implemented. Assessments began Nov. 1, 1986.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight of 22 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

More information about the board is available on the AMS National Pork Board page and on the National Pork Board website,