USDA Announces National Mango Board Appointments

The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of seven members to serve on the National Mango Board. The appointees will serve three-year terms, from Jan. 1, 2021, to Dec. 31, 2023, with the exception of one domestic producer appointee whose term will begin immediately and will end on Dec. 31, 2021.

Members newly appointed to serve are: 

  • Alyssa Salome Hind, McAllen, Texas – Importer
  • Christopher A. Ciruli, Tubac, Arizona – Importer
  • Thomas Hall, Pico Rivera, California – Importer
  • Rod Chamberlain, Mecca, California – Domestic Producer (3-year term)
  • Daniel J. Lyons, Homestead, Florida – Domestic Producer (1-year term)
  • Carlos Ramon Palafox Arenas, Michoacán, Mexico – Foreign Producer
  • Cesar Morocho Marchan, Piura, Peru – Foreign Producer

The National Mango Board currently has 21 members, including eight importers, two domestic producers, one first handler, seven foreign producers, two importers of frozen mangos and one foreign processor of frozen mangos. Board members are nominated by their industry and appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture. Members can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) National Mango Board webpage and on the board’s website,

Since 1966, Congress has authorized industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight to 21 boards. The oversight ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity, and is paid for by industry assessments.